Every player released in EFL as ex-Reds full-back becomes free agent

Former Nottingham Forest full-back Daniel Pinillos is among the players now on the lookout for a new club after being released.

With the English Football League’s deadline for clubs to submit their retained lists passing, a number of those whose deals expire on June 30 have been let go.

Pinillos, who joined Barnsley in 2018, is one of them. He wrote on Twitter: “Thank you for everything Barnsley fans. It has been a pleasure to defend this shirt and you have made me feel like at home from the first day. I wish you all the best and I hope to see you soon at Oakwell.”

With players out of contract next week, a host of clubs will be scanning retained lists to see if they can snap up a bargain or two ahead of next season.

Championship clubs had until yesterday to secure contract extensions with any player they wanted to see out the season with, and many have taken the opportunity to announce their retained lists early.

In League One and League Two, the majority of clubs have confirmed their retained lists, with largely just the sides involved in the play-offs holding fire to discover which league they are in next season before offering contracts to players.

Here is every EFL player released so far.



Released: Kenny Dougall, Dani Pinillos, Samuel Radlinger, Mamadou Thiam, Jordan Barnett, Jared Bird, Tommy Willard, Sam Fielding, Harry Gagen, Jake Greatorex, Keziah Martin, Chris Sang, Alex Wollerton.

Retained/Contracts offered to: Mike Bahre, Jordan Green, Cameron McGeehan, Alex Mowatt, Marcel Ritzmaier, Michael Sollbauer, Cauley Woodrow.

Birmingham City

Released: David Stockdale, Cheick Keita.

Cardiff City

Released: Jazz Richards, Omar Bogle, Matthew Connolly.

Charlton Athletic

Released: Lyle Taylor, Chris Solly.

Charlton Athletic’s Lyle Taylor

Derby County

Released: Ikechi Anya.

Negotiating: Tom Huddlestone.

Hull City

Released: Eric Lichaj, Jackson Irvine, Stephen Kingsley, Marcus Maddison.


Released: Daniel Ayala.

Preston North End

Released: Tom Clarke, Connor Simpson, Jack Armer, Kevin O’Connor, Michael Crowe.


Released: Grant Hall.

West Brom

Released: Ali Al-Habsi, Kane Wilson, Jack Fitzwater.

There’s a quick and easy way to stay on top of all the Nottingham Forest news with our daily newsletter.

Delivered straight into your email inbox each day, the bulletins will feature the latest Forest news, views, gossip and opinion.

All you have to do is fill in this easy form, or punch your email in at the top of the article – it looks just like this…


And what’s more, it’s absolutely free!

You can also get all the latest updates by following us on social media here Facebook and Twitter.

We also have a free app which you can download. It is always up-to-date with the latest Forest news. Google Play Store and App Store.

League One

Accrington Stanley

Released: Dimi Evitmov, Zaine Francis-Angol, Erico de Sousa, Wilson…

Read More:Every player released in EFL as ex-Reds full-back becomes free agent