Arsenal and Chelsea learn ball numbers ahead of group stage draw for EFL Trophy

Details for the group stage of next season’s EFL Trophy have been confirmed with the ball numbers for Arsenal, Chelsea, West Ham United and Fulham revealed.

The draw pits teams from across League One and League Two against one another, as well as others from category 1 Premier League and Championship academies.

The draw has been regionalised and split up into northern and southern sections.

There are eight groups in each region and each one currently includes three teams.

Video Loading

Video Unavailable

A fourth side will be added to each group – the academy of a Premier League or Championship side- when the draw takes place on the afternoon of Tuesday, August 18.

The draw is being broadcast live on talkSPORT 2 from 1.30pm.

The likes of Manchester United, Leeds United, Manchester City, and Liverpool are named in the northern section.

And in the southern part of the draw, Arsenal, Chelsea, West Ham United and Fulham are among the clubs invited.

Here’s how the groups in each region look like so far, and the ball numbers for the sides still to be allocated.


Group A

Carlisle United

Fleetwood Town


Group B



Salford City

Group C

Bolton Wanderers

Crewe Alexandra

Shrewsbury Town

Group D

Port Vale

Tranmere Rovers

Wigan Athletic

Group E

Mansfield Town

Lincoln City

Scunthorpe United

Group F

Bradford City

Doncaster Rovers

Oldham Athletic

Group G

Accrington Stanley



Group H

Grimsby Town

Harrogate Town

Hull City

Ball numbers for northern section

1. Aston Villa

2. Leeds United

3. Leicester City

4. Liverpool

5. Manchester City

6. Manchester United

7. Newcastle United

8. Wolves


Group A

Colchester United


Southend United

Group B

Crawley Town


Ipswich Town

Group C

MK Dons

Northampton Town


Group D

Bristol Rovers

Oxford United


Group E

Exeter City

Forest Green Rovers

Swindon Town

Group F

Cheltenham Town

Newport County

Plymouth Argyle

Group G

AFC Wimbledon

Charlton Athletic

Leyton Orient

Group H

Burton Albion

Cambridge United

Peterborough United

Ball numbers for southern section

1. Arsenal

2. Brighton & Hove Albion

3. Chelsea

4. Fulham

5. Norwich City

6. Southampton

7. West Bromwich Albion

8. West Ham United

Read More:Arsenal and Chelsea learn ball numbers ahead of group stage draw for EFL Trophy