England announce 24-man squad for UEFA Nations League games vs Iceland and

England manager Gareth Southgate has named his first squad of 2020 ahead of their upcoming UEFA Nations League encounters against Iceland and Denmark.

After the coronavirus pandemic saw the 2020 UEFA European Championship postponed, several players will be allowed the opportunity to offer Southgate selection headaches ahead of their continental showpiece next year.

In what marks the first international break for England since November, the Three Lions boss has sprung a few surprises with three maiden call-ups in the form of Leeds United midfielder Kalvin Phillips, Phil Foden and Mason Greenwood.

Foden and Greenwood enjoyed breakout seasons at Manchester City and Manchester United over the 2019/20 Premier League season and look poised to develop into integral parts of their respective clubs.

“We are a year away from a European Championship and let’s see if they can start to break into that team, that squad. It gives us great competition for places,” Southgate said.

Kyle Walker, Eric Dier have also returned after being out in the cold for the past 12 months while Southampton striker Danny Ings has been rewarded with his first call-up since 2015.

The biggest shock has been the inclusion of Manchester United captain Harry Maguire who’s currently on trial in Greece after being arrested for a violent argument while on holiday.

England squad in full, as per the FA:

Tammy Abraham (Chelsea), Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Phil Foden (Manchester City), Joe Gomez (Liverpool), Mason Greenwood (Manchester United), Dean Henderson (Manchester United), Danny Ings (Southampton), Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Michael Keane (Everton), Harry Maguire (Manchester United), Tyrone Mings (Aston Villa), Mason Mount (Chelsea), Kalvin Phillips (Leeds United), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Declan Rice (West Ham United), Jadon Sancho (Borussia Dortmund), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Atletico Madrid), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), James Ward-Prowse (Southampton), Harry Winks (Tottenham Hotspur)

Read More:England announce 24-man squad for UEFA Nations League games vs Iceland and