Comparing Liverpool’s points tally after 14 matches to past title winners –

After an unpredictable start to the season, reigning champions Liverpool have established a four-point lead at the top of the Premier League at Christmas.

Jurgen Klopp’s team have survived an injury crisis that has decimated their squad and an embarrassing 7-2 defeat at Aston Villa to lead the way. Their lead may not be as comprehensive as last season but appears just as ominous.

We’ve gone back through the last decade to see how Liverpool’s current tally of 31 points from 14 games compares to previous champions.

2010-11 – Manchester United

After 14 games of the 2010-11 season, United were unbeaten and sitting second behind champions Chelsea on goal difference.

Their record was interesting; while Sir Alex Ferguson’s team had 28 points they had the same number of wins as draws (seven). With Wayne Rooney angling for a move to Manchester City around this time, it is perhaps not surprising that United were grinding out results.

United went unbeaten until February and eventually won the league by nine points.

2011-12 – Manchester City

Having finally clicked under Roberto Mancini, City were sitting on 38 points and had not lost a single league game. Interestingly, their closest rivals were not Manchester United but Harry Redknapp’s free-wheeling Tottenham.

The title race that followed was probably the best of the decade. After stumbling over the winter, City found themselves eight points behind United with six games to go.

United went on to lose at Wigan and draw 4-4 with Everton, allowing City to go top after a Vincent Kompany goal won the derby in April. Two weeks later, Aguero scored that goal and Martin Tyler spontaneously combusted live on air.

City won the league on goal difference with 89 points.

Nedum Onuoha, QPR

READ: Roberto Mancini was insulting players on day of title win – Nedum Onuoha

2012-13 – Manchester United

Following a 1-0 win over West Ham, United maintained their one-point lead over Manchester City at the top of the table.

Having signed Robin van Persie over the summer, United had already scored 33 goals and accumulated 33 points. A dramatic win at the Eithad in early December effectively sealed the title in Sir Alex Ferguson’s final season.

By the end of the campaign, their one-point lead had become an 11-point canter.

READ: Fergie’s farewell gift: Robin van Persie’s fairytale debut season at Man Utd

2013-14 – Manchester City

Having jettisoned Mancini for Manuel Pelligrini, City were averaging exactly two points a game and scored a league-high 40 goals.

They were still six points behind leaders Arsenal, with Jose Mourinho’s Chelsea also two points ahead of City.

In a season that redefined the word ‘topsy-turvy’, Arsenal fell away while Chelsea stuttered fatefully against the likes of Aston Villa and Crystal Palace.

City timed their run perfectly and took advantage of Liverpool’s infamous slip-up, despite suffering defeat at Anfield in April.

Their tally of 86 points, 102 goals scored and +65 goal difference…

Read More:Comparing Liverpool’s points tally after 14 matches to past title winners –